MAC Announces 2012 Outdoor Women's Academic Team

Updated 6/21/2012
CLEVELAND - The Mid-American Conference announced its 2012 Women's Outdoor Track and Field Academic All-MAC team Tuesday, as voted on by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of 30 student-athletes were named to the team.

Seven repeat award winners were named to the 2012 Academic Team including Ball State’s Thekla Lorenz, Kent State’s Kim Preston and Sara Oczypok, Northern Illinois’ Jenelle McCalla and Jenner Sio, Ohio’s Brittany Tyree, and Western Michigan’s Iris Campbell.  2012 Outdoor Champions that joined were Ariane Beaumont-Courteau of Akron, Penina Acayo of Kent State, Kelley Miller of Miami, Huijun Jing of Toledo and Andrea Arnold of Western Michigan.  Second Team All-MAC Members that made the squad included Eastern Michigan’s ReJeana Margina, Kent State’s Keri Dantley, Miami’s Ashley Zaper, Toleldo’s Julie Snyder, Megan Vogelsong and Megan Wright, and finally, Western Michigan’s Aisha Hodge.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50% of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award. 

2012 Women's Outdoor Track and Field Academic All-MAC
Ariane Beaumont-Courteau, Akron
Thekla Lorenz, Ball State
Emma Denton, Buffalo
Holly Anderson, Central Michigan
Raeanne Lohner, Central Michigan
Maddie Ribant, Central Michigan
ReJeana Margina, Eastern Michigan
Penina Acayo, Kent State
Keri Dantley, Kent State
Danielle Dougherty, Kent State
Paige Foster, Kent State
Lauren Noe, Kent State
Sara Oczypok, Kent State
Kim Preston, Kent State
Rachel Clay, Miami
Erica Howes, Miami
Kelley Miller, Miami
Ashley Zaper, Miami
Jenelle McCalla, Northern Illinois
Courtney Oldenburg, Northern Illinois
Jenner Sio, Northern Illinois
Emily Pifer, Ohio
Brittany Tyree, Ohio
Huijun Jing, Toledo
Julie Snyder, Toledo
Megan Vogelsong, Toledo
Megan Wright, Toledo
Andrea Arnold, Western Michigan
Iris Campbell, Western Michigan
Aisha Hodge, Western Michigan

Honorable Mention:
Madeline Goheen, Ball State
Saisha Gailliard, Bowling Green
Allison Weimer, Bowling Green
Sam Beim, Buffalo
Jackie Cavalluzzo, Buffalo
Caitlin Curry, Buffalo
Kelsey Fitzgerald, Buffalo
Aimee Hopkins, Buffalo
Kaytlin Mack, Buffalo
Katie Sanders, Buffalo
Kelsey Beatty, Central Michigan
Kayla Brindley, Central Michigan
Veronica Garcia, Central Michigan
Stephanie Hurley, Central Michigan
Krista Parks, Central Michigan
Andrea Pawlowski, Central Michigan
Kelsey Ritter, Central Michigan
Samantha Stein, Central Michigan
Cassie Coffman, Eastern Michigan
Tiffany Kincaid, Eastern Michigan
Tiara Oates, Eastern Michigan
Rachel Quaintance, Eastern Michigan
Angela Scarber, Eastern Michigan
Brooke Sciullo, Eastern Michigan
Ashley Wartley, Eastern Michigan
Natalie Webb, Eastern Michigan
Brooke Hutchings, Kent State
Erica Hutson, Kent State
Audrey Maheu, Kent State
Domenica Rossi, Kent State
Melinda Sawnor, Kent State
Kayla Schoenle, Kent State
Loren Thomas, Kent State
Jillian Dickman, Miami
Monica Fischer, Miami
Melissa Girgis, Miami
Sarah Kinnaman, Miami
Katie Scannell, Miami
Krista Stillson, Miami
Kori Tatman, Miami
Erica Miller, Northern Illinois
Alexa Macri, Ohio
Kristen Mason, Ohio
Kiley Mathews, Ohio
Hope McCarty, Ohio
Melissa Thompson, Ohio
Courtney Weiss, Ohio
Katie Bollin, Toledo
Lei Bornhorst, Toledo
Samantha Condron, Toledo
Emily Potter, Toledo
Chiara Allen, Western Michigan
Cara Cremeans, Western Michigan
Rachel Whitley, Western Michigan