MAC Unveils 2011-12 Men's Golf Academic Team

Updated 5/29/2012
CLEVELAND, Ohio - The Mid-American Conference announced its 2011-12 Men's Golf Academic All-MAC team Tuesday, as voted by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of seven student-athletes were named to the team.

This year's squad is led by four NCAA Regional qualifiers as Ball State’s Tyler Merkel, is joined by Kent State’s Corey Connors, Mackenzie Hughes and Kevin Miller.  Merkel qualified as an individual competitor at the Regional held in Ann Arbor, while Kent State’s members qualified as the team Champion from the MAC after winning the 2012 MAC Golf Championship.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.

2012 Men’s Golf Academic All-MAC Team:
Tyler Merkel, Ball State
Alex Stinson, Ball State
Corey Connors, Kent State
Mackenzie Hughes, Kent State
Kevin Miller, Kent State
Paul Grauer, Ohio
Paul Hammerschmidt, Northern Illinois

Honorable Mention:
Scott Landreth, Akron
Tim Lew, Akron
Cameron Simmons, Akron
TJ Carpenter, Ball State
Tony Lazzara, Ball State
Chris Melvin, Bowling Green
Derek East, Eastern Michigan
Mark MacDonald, Miami
Ben Peacock, Miami
Shawn Foley, Northern Illinois
Michael Lamping, Ohio
Bradley Lucas, Ohio