MAC Announces Women's Academic All-MAC

Updated 5/29/2012
CLEVELAND - The Mid-American Conference announced its 2011-12 Women's Golf Academic All-MAC team Wednesday, as voted on by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of 10 student-athletes were named to the team.

This year's squad was highlighted by Kent State’s Mercedes Germino, the third place finisher from the 2012 MAC Women's Golf Championship, as well as a member of the Kent State team that advanced to the NCAA Central Regional after the Golden Flashes' 14th consecutive MAC title. Germino is joined by Eastern Michigan’s Sarah Johnson, Northern Illinois’ Kelsie Passolt and Sportswoman of the Year, Ohio’s Megan Weaver, as Top-20 finishers at the MAC Championship.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50% of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.

2012 Women’s Golf Academic All-MAC Team:
Katie Windlan, Ball State
Meredith Fairbairn, Eastern Michigan
Sarah Johnson, Eastern Michigan
Mercedes Germino, Kent State
Allie Parthie, Northern Illinois
Kelsie Passolt, Northern Illinois
Megan Weaver, Ohio
Meryl Weaver, Ohio
Leah Grawburg, Western Michigan
Kaylee Imel, Western Michigan

Honorable Mention:
Amanda Butler, Akron
Sara Chaves, Akron
Katie Jenior, Akron
Autumn Duke, Ball State
Sarah Westaway, Ball State
Bailey Arnold, Bowling Green
Kelsey Benson, Bowling Green
Amy Ruthenberg, Bowling Green
Corey Crossan, Eastern Michigan
Alyssa Kwon, Eastern Michigan
Kara Brinkmann, Ohio
Kristen Helmsdoerfer, Ohio
Sarah Tranelli, Ohio
Kate Hoops, Toledo
Allison Schultz, Toledo
Heather Marks, Western Michigan