All-MAC Men's Tennis Team Announced

Updated 5/3/2000
Cleveland, Ohio (May 3) - The Mid-American Conference men's tennis all-conference team was announced with tournament champion Ball State dominating the squad with three first-team selections.

The Cardinals placed MAC Player of the Year Ryan Baxter, as well as Jason Pressel and Andrew Seni on the first-team. They were joined by Western Michigan's Fernando Garcia, Bowling Green's Vitek Wild and Toledo's Jorge Morales.

Western Michigan landed three among the second team all-MAC selections. The Broncos' Steve Pillon, Ryan Tomlinson and Kyle Gernhofer comprised half of the six second squad honorees. Bowling Green's Nicolas Lopez-Acevedo and Geoff Hiscox and Eastern Michigan's Jason Yue were named to the remaining three posts.

As announced last week prior to the league championship, Ball State's Ryan Baxter was named MAC Player of the Year, Newcomer of the Year was awarded to Bowling Green freshman Nicolas Lopez-Acevedo and Coach of the Year was shared by Western Michigan's Dave Morin and Eastern Michigan's Tony Martin. The Jack Vredevelt Sportsmanship Award went to Western Michigan's Kyle Gernhofer.

The All-MAC team, Newcomer of the Year, Player of the Year and Coach of the Year Awards were voted on by the league's ten head coaches.

In the Jack Vredevelt Sportsmanship Award voting, the players were judged by their MAC peers as displaying the most outstanding sportsmanship in MAC competition. The award is named in honor of the former WMU player and coach who won MAC singles titles four consecutive years (1952-53-54-55) and was honored as MAC Coach of the Year in 1975, 1981, 1991 and 1996.

First Team All MAC
Name		School			Cl.	Hometown
Ryan Baxter	Ball State		Sr.	Durban, South Africa
Jason Pressel	Ball State		So.	Cincinnati, Ohio
Fernando Garcia	Western Michigan	Jr.	Cali, Colombia
Vitek Wild	Bowling Green		So.	Prague, Czech Republic
Jorge Morales	Toledo			Sr.	Caracus, Venezuela
Andrew Seni	Ball State		So.	Kettering, Ohio

Second Team All-MAC	
Name			School			Cl.	Hometown
Nicolas Lopez-Acevedo	Bowling Green		Fr.	Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Steve Pillon		Western Michigan	Jr.	Port Huron, Mich.
Ryan Tomlinson		Western Michigan	Jr.	Three Rivers, Mich.
Geoff Hiscox		Bowling Green		Fr.	London, Ontario
Jason Yue		Eastern Michigan	Sr.	Pittsburgh, Pa.
Kyle Gernhofer		Western Michigan	Sr.	Traverse City, Mich.