MAC Men's Tennis Awards Announced

Updated 4/29/2000
Cleveland, Ohio (April 29) -- The Mid-American Conference men's tennis awards were announced today following the conclusion of the championship held in Toledo, Ohio. Player of the Year honors went to Ball State University senior Ryan Baxter, Newcomer of the Year was awarded to Bowling Green freshman Nicolas Lopez-Acevedo and Coach of the Year was shared by Western Michigan's Dave Morin and Eastern Michigan's Tony Martin. The Jack Vredevelt Sportsmanship Award went to Western Michigan's Kyle Gernhofer.

Baxter, a native of Durban, South Africa, compiled a 5-0 record at No. 1 singles in MAC play and a 3-1 doubles record. Overall he posted a 26-9 record and 16-10 doubles mark for the season. He helped the Cardinals to a share of the MAC regular-season title with a 5-1 league record.

Lopez-Acevedo, who hails from Guaynabo, Puerto Rico, went 5-1 in singles and 4-2 in doubles in MAC competition his initial year in the league. Overall he compiled a 21-13 mark in singles and 22-7 in doubles. His play helped the Falcons to a portion of the league's regular-season title.

Martin and Morin shared the Coach of the Year Award, the fourth time since the award was started in 1973 that two coaches have been honored as co-Coach of the Year. Morin was previously honored as Coach of the Year in 1994 and 1998.

The Newcomer of the Year, Player of the Year and Coach of the Year Awards were voted on by the league's ten head coaches.

The Jack Vredevelt Sportsmanship award went to the Broncos' Gernhofer, a senior who went undefeated in MAC play. Gernhofer, a native of Traverse City, Mich., was 6-0 at both No. 5 singles and No. 2 doubles as his play helped WMU to a share of the MAC regular-season title with Ball State and Bowling Green.

In the Jack Vredevelt Sportsmanship Award voting, the players were judged by their MAC peers as displaying the most outstanding sportsmanship in MAC competition. The award is named in honor of the former WMU player and coach who won MAC singles titles four consecutive years (1952-53-54-55) and was honored as MAC Coach of the Year in 1975, 1981, 1991 and 1996.

The All-MAC teams will be announced on Tuesday, May 2.