Prentice Earns Place In College Football Hall of Fame

Updated 2/1/2000
The College Football Hall of Fame unveiled its second round of updates following the 1999 season, it was announced by the world-class facility in South Bend, Ind. February 1.

Miami University's Travis Prentice and the Mt. Union football team are honored in the Decade of the 1990s section along with a replica Eddie Robinson Coaches' Award trophy. Prentice, who ended his career with NCAA Division I-A records for total touchdowns (78), rushing touchdowns (73) and points scored (468), has his helmet on display.

Mt. Union is represented by the shirt that head coach Larry Kehres wore in the Purple Raiders' victory over Otterbein to claim the NCAA record for consecutive victories. Oklahoma held the previous record of 47. Mt. Union extended the streak to 54 games before losing to Rowan in the Division III playoffs. Kehres' shirt joins the game ball and program from the record-breaking day that were donated to the Hall.

The Football Writers Association of America has chosen a coach of the year since 1957, including the last three when the award was named after Hall of Fame coach Eddie Robinson. Virginia Tech's Frank Beamer was named this year's recipient. Beamer won the award in balloting by more than 800 members of the Football Writers Association of America. Beamer edged out Hawaii coach June Jones and Minnesota coach Glen Mason in the balloting.

The College Football Hall of Fame, open seven days a week, continues to update its exhibits to honor all award winners, national champions and bowl participants.