Northern Illinois' Justin McCareins Named MAC Special Teams Player of the Year

Updated 11/28/2000

Special Teams Player of the Year
Justin McCareins

CLEVELAND (Nov. 28) -- Northern Illinois' return specialist Justin McCareins, a graduate of North High School in Naperville, Ill., has been honored as the 2000 Mid-American Conference Special Teams Player of the Year in voting among members of the MAC News Media Association.

McCareins led the MAC in punt returns with a 19.1 yards per return average, and finished second in kickoff returns with a 22.8 yards per return average. He also ran back one punt for a touchdown.

McCareins' 763 yards in returns boosted him into the top all-purpose yardage producer in the MAC. Combined with his league-leading 1,168 receiving yards on 66 receptions, McCaerins totaled 2,014 all-purpose yards for an average of 183.1 per game.

McCareins is the first Huskie to win the MAC Special Teams Player of the Year Award and first return specialist to be so honored. McCareins received 18 of the 61 votes cast. Also receiving consideration were Ohio's Dave Zastudil (15), Northern Illinois' Steve Azar (9), Western Michigan's Josh Bush (5), Miami's Kent McCullough (5), Western Michigan's Brad Selent (4), Toledo's Todd France (3), Ohio's Raynald Ray (1) and Miami's Eddie Tillitz (1).

MAC Special Teams of the Year Winners
2000- Justin McCareins, Northern Illinois
1999- Dave Zastudil, Ohio
1998- Brad Selent, Western Michigan