Ball State's Talmadge Hill Honored As MAC Freshman of the Year

Updated 11/28/2000

MAC Freshman of the Year
Talmadge Hill

CLEVELAND, Ohio (Nov. 28) -- Ball State quarterback Talmadge Hill, a graduate of River Forest High School in Oak Park, Ill., has been honored as the 2000 Mid-American Conference Freshman of the Year in voting among members of the MAC News Media Association.

Hill was inserted into the starting lineup on Oct. 7 at Miami and promptly led the Cardinals to a 15-10 win, snapping a 21-game losing streak. Hill then led his team to three more consecutive wins and a total of five wins in the last six games.

Hill finished the 2000 campaign fourth in the MAC in passing efficiency with a 127.9 rating. He completed 130-of-212 passes for 1,455 yards, 13 touchdowns and 12 interceptions. His 61.3 pass completion percentage leads the MAC.

Hill is the first Ball State player to win the league's Freshman of the Year honor since Michael Blair in 1993. He received 20 of the 58 votes cast for Freshman of the Year. Also receiving consideration were Miami's Terrell Jones (13), Marshall's Darius Watts (10), Northern Illinois' Michael Turner (9), Ohio's Dennis Thompson (3), Bowling Green's Jannsen Patton (2) and Toledo's Brandon Hefflin (1).

MAC Freshman of the Year Winners
2000- Talmadge Hill, Ball State
1999- Brandon Payne, Akron
1998- Kurt Gerling, Bowling Green
1997- Robert Sanford, Western Michigan
1996- Walt Church, Eastern Michigan and Tim Lester, Western Michigan
1995- Silas Massey, Central Michigan
1994- Astron Whatley, Kent
1993- Michael Blair, Ball State
1992- Deland McCullough, Miami
1991- Morrey Norris, Kent
1990- Troy Parker, Toledo
1989- Brad Tayles, Western Michigan
1988- Jeff Bender, Central Michigan
1987- Bernie Parmalee, Ball State
1986- Patrick Young, Kent
1985- Marshall Taylor, Northern Illinois
1984- Pete Genatempo, Northern Illinois
1983- Kelly Spielmaker, Western Michigan
1982- Brian McClure, Bowling Green