Mid-American Conference All -Academic Baseball Team Announced

Updated 6/9/1999

Eighteen Mid-American Conference baseball student-athletes earned first-team Academic All-MAC selection in voting conducted by Mid-American Conference Faculty Athletic Representatives. Overall, thirty-seven student-athletes earned either first-team or honorable mention on the All-Academic squad.

Conference champion Bowling Green placed a pair of student-athletes on the first team: Alan Gilhousen and Matt Marcum. Ball State, Central Michigan and Miami each had three first-team performers, with Chris Cabaj, Jeremy Ridley, and Matt Wood representing Ball Sate; Brian Issitt, Scott Pieratt, and Jake Sanborn representing Central Michigan; and Mark Thewes, Tom Yost, and Nat Tekevec from Miami earning recognition. Kent (Sam Crea and Alex Marconi) and Ohio (Joe Beyer and Mike Goldstein) also had two honorees apiece.

Tony Meyers of Northern Illinois, Jim Crooks from Toledo and Western Michigan's Kris Gundrum round out the first-team selections.

Earning honorable mention recognition are: Matt Malska of Akron; Matt Best and Joe Cheney of Bowling Green; Sage Jackson, Kevin Smoot, and Dave Twomley of Central Michigan; Chris Holick of Kent; Marshall's Sean Reeder; John Lackaff and Luke Reinhart from Miami; Brad Gavelek and Brian Miller of Northern Illinois; Brian D'Amico, Ryan Hulse, Jeremy Johnson, and Ryan Kyes from Ohio; and Bill Chepulis, Ryan Kochen, and Joe Seestadt of Western Michigan.

Academic All-Mid-American Conference honorees are student-athletes who have excelled in academics and athletics. To qualify a student-athlete must have at least a 3.0 grade point average during his or her college career and be a starter or top reserve during the just-completed season.