Akron DB Earns All-America Honors

Updated 11/21/2000
Akron defensive back Dwight Smith was named to the Football Writers Association of America All-America squad yesterday. The two-time MAC Defensive Player of the Week finished the season with an NCAA-leading 10 interceptions, scoring three touchdowns and recovering three fumbles. Smith also tallied 94 receiving yards while playing offense. A Vern Smith Award nominee, he helped lead Akron to it’s second straight winning season with a 6-5 record, marking the first time the Zips have accomplished that feat since joining the Division I-A football ranks.

The FWAA has announced an All-America team since the 1944 season. It is the second-longest continuously-published team in major-college football.

Making the team were Miami linebacker Dan Morgan, defensive back Edward Reed, offensive lineman Joaquin Gonzalez and kick returner Santana Moss. Collectively, they have sparked the Hurricanes to a 9-1 record this season. Oklahoma quarterback Josh Heupel, who led the Sooners to victories over Texas, Kansas State and Nebraska in successive games in October, plus Sooners’ defensive star, linebacker Rocky Calmus, were selected as All-Americas. Florida State wide receiver Marvin Minnis and defensive end Jamal Reynolds also made the team.

Earlier the FWAA announced five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, which is awarded to the best defensive player in college football. Those players, all on the FWAA All-America team, are: Morgan, Tennessee defensive tackle John Henderson, Missouri defensive end Justin Smith, California defensive end Andre Carter and North Carolina State linebacker Levar Fisher.

Three finalists for the FWAA’s Outland Trophy, which has been awarded to the best interior lineman in college football since 1946, will be named on Nov. 30.



QB-Josh Heupel, Oklahoma

RB-LaDainian Tomlinson, TCU

RB-Damien Anderson, Northwestern

TE-Brian Natkin, Texas El-Paso

WR-Marvin Minnis, Florida State

WR-Antonio Bryant, Pittsburgh

C-Dominic Raiola, Nebraska

OL-Chris Brown, Georgia Tech

OL-Steve Hutchinson, Michigan

OL-Leonard Davis, Texas

OL-Joaquin Gonzalez, Miami, Fla.

K-Jonathon Ruffin, Cincinnati

KR-Santana Moss, Miami, Fla.



DL-Jamal Reynolds, Florida State

DL-John Henderson, Tennessee

DL-Justin Smith, Missouri

DL-Andre Carter, California

LB-Levar Fisher, North Carolina State

LB-Dan Morgan, Miami, Fla.

LB-Rocky Calmus, Oklahoma

DB-Jamar Fletcher, Wisconsin

DB-Dwight Smith, Akron

DB-Edward Reed, Miami, Fla.

DB-Lito Sheppard, Florida

P-Brian Morton, Duke