Ohio University Presented Rotary Club of Detroit Sportsmanship of the Year Award

Updated 12/22/1999
The Rotary Club of Detroit today announced that Ohio University is the recipient of the inaugural Rotary Club of Detroit Sportsmanship of the Year Award, presented to the Mid-American Conference institution whose athletes demonstrate the most outstanding sportsmanship in the sports of football, volleyball, men's and women's basketball, baseball and softball. The inaugural award is for the 1998-99 academic year and was presented today to Ohio University at the 1999 meeting of the Rotary Club of Detroit.

The Rotary Club has established the Sportsmanship of the Year Award to promote and emphasize sportsmanship in college athletics. In recognition of the outstanding sportsmanship of Ohio University's athletes, the University was presented with a check in the amount of $5,000 from the Detroit Rotary Foundation, for its general scholarship fund.

Team winners for the 1998-99 academic year have or will receive plaques in recognition of their outstanding sportsmanship in particular sport. The 1998-99 team sport winners are as follows:

Football - Ohio University
Volleyball - Western Michigan
Men's Basketball - Western Michigan
Women's Basketball - University at Buffalo
Baseball - Northern Illinois
Softball - Ball State

In the words of the President of the Rotary Club of Detroit, David E. Nims, "We salute the athletes of the teams recognized by our Sportsmanship of the Year Awards for team sports. We also congratulate the coaches and staffs for emphasizing the importance of sportsmanship in college athletics. Most importantly, we are pleased to present our Sportsmanship of the Year trophy to Ohio University for the overall success of its teams in demonstrating that sportsmanship is an important part of college athletics. We also believe that many more rewards will be realized in life by those athletes who learn of the value of sportsmanship in all levels of competition."