Kent State to Play at North Carolina in NCAA Field Hockey First Round

Updated 11/8/2000

  • NCAA Field Hockey Championship Site
  • NCAA Field Hockey Championship Bracket

    INDIANAPOLIS (Nov. 7) --- The NCAA Division I Field Hockey Committee announced the field of 16 teams for the 2000 Division I Field Hockey Championship.

    Eight teams received at-large bids, six conferences were granted automatic qualifications, and two teams received berths by way of a play-in game.

    Old Dominion (21-1) tops the bracket as the No. 1 seed in the tournament. The University of North Carolina (17-3), University of Maryland (17-3), and Wake Forest University (16-3), round out the top four teams. These schools will host the first- and second-round games on November 11 and 12.

    The remaining 12 teams, in no particular order are: University of Connecticut (16-6); University of Virginia (14-7); Harvard University (12-5); University of Michigan (18-3); College of William and Mary (12-7); University of New Hampshire (14-7); Princeton University (13-3); Pennsylvania State University (17-5); Kent State University (19-3); and University of Massachusetts (18-3). Boston University (16-7) and Stanford University (13-10) captured berths by way of a play-in game.

    The six conferences that received automatic qualifications are: Atlantic 10 Conference; Big Ten Conference; Big East Conference; Colonial Athletic Association; Ivy Group; and Mid-American Conference.

    The Division I Field Hockey semi-finals and finals will be played on November 17 and 19 at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia.