Mid-American Conference Joins BCS As Non-Voting Member

Updated 11/7/2000
Cleveland, Ohio -- Bowl Championship Series (BCS) Coordinator John Swofford and MAC Commissioner Rick Chryst jointly announced today that future meetings regarding BCS issues would include the Mid-American Conference in addition to the original equity conferences (ACC, Big East, Big Ten, Big Twelve, PAC -10 and SEC), Conference USA, the Mountain West Conference and the Western Athletic Conference.

"As we move forward in planning the next six years of the Bowl Championship Series, the original BCS entities believed it was important to include all of the conferences currently playing major college football," said Swofford. "We believe the commonality of the group will serve us well in future discussions regarding such issues as post-season football, the marketing of the game and legislative matters that may impact the sport."

"This is a significant opportunity for the MAC and a strong recognition of the football success of this conference over the last several years," said Chryst. "We will continue to make strides with our programs and we look forward to working within the BCS to help support and promote the growth of major college football."

Western Michigan and Toledo are both 8-1 this season, continuing the momentum established last year by Marshall University, which finished the season 13-0, ranked No. 10 in both major polls, and was just one of two undefeated teams. WMU is rated 27th in both major polls while UT is listed 31st in the ESPN/USA TODAY Coaches Poll and 34th by Associated Press. Additionally, WMU is ranked third nationally and UT fourth in scoring defense among all Division I teams.

The MAC 2000 Championship game on Dec. 2 will be a part of ABC's Championship Saturday. The MAC title game will be the lead-in at 1:00 p.m. (ET) and followed by the SEC and Big Twelve championship games.