Marshall's Pruett Named MAC Coach of the Year

Updated 12/2/1999
Huntington W.V.-- (Dec. 2) For the second year in a row, Marshall University head football coach Bob Pruett was named the Mid-American Conference Coach of the Year at the Vern Smith Banquet on Thursday in Huntington, W.V.

Pruett led Marshall to an 11-0 record and the championship of the MAC's East Division. His Thundering Herd team will play Western Michigan Friday night in the MAC Championship game. Marshall's current national ranking of #11 is the highest in school history and the highest by a MAC team since 1974.

Marshall has a 47-4 record under Pruett's guidance in four years, including three MAC East Division Championships (1997-98-99), two MAC Championships (1997, 1998), and two appearances in the Motor City Bowl (1997, 1998). The MAC Coach of the Year is selected by the MAC News Media Association. Pruett joins Gary Blackney (Bowling Green 1991-92) and Frank Lauterbur (Toledo 1969-70) as those who have been honored in consecutive years as MAC Coach of the Year.

Past MAC Coaches of the Year
1998 Bob Pruett, Marshall
1997 Gary Pinkel, Toledo
1996 Jim Grobe, Ohio
1995 Gary Pinkel, Toledo
1994 Dick Flynn, Central Michigan
1993 Paul Schudel, Ball State
1992 Gary Blackney, Bowling Green
1991 Gary Blackney, Bowling Green
1990 Herb Deromedi, Central Michigan
1989 Paul Schudel, Ball State
1988 Al Molde, Western Michigan
1987 Jim Harkema, Eastern Michigan
1986 Glen Mason, Kent
1985 Denny Stolz, Bowling Green
1984 Dan Simrell, Toledo
1983 Bill Mallory, Northern Illinois
1982 Denny Stolz, Bowling Green
1981 Chuck Stobart, Toledo
1980 Herb Deromedi, Central Michigan
1979 Chuck Stobart, Toledo
1978 Dwight Wallace, Ball State
1977 Ed Chlebek, Eastern Michigan
1976 Elliot Uzelac, Western Michigan
1975 Dave McClain, Ball State
1974 Dick Crum, Miami
1973 Bill Mallory, Miami
1972 Don James, Kent
1971 Jack Murphy, Toledo
1970 Frank Lauterbur, Toledo
1969 Frank Lauterbur, Toledo
1968 Bill Hess, Ohio
1967 Frank Lauterbur, Toledo
1966 Bill Doolittle, Western Michigan
1965 Bo Schembechler, Miami