Marshall University's Chad Pennington Honored As MAC Offensive Player of the Year

Updated 11/30/1999

  • MAC Defensive Player of the Year

    CLEVELAND, Ohio (November 30) -- Marshall University quarterback Chad Pennington, a graduate of Webb High School in Knoxville, Tenn., and a senior for the Thundering Herd, has been honored as the 1999 Pepsi Mid-American Conference Offensive Player of the Year in voting among members of the MAC News Media Association.

    Pennington led Marshall to a regular-season record of 11-0 and a national ranking of #11, the highest in school history. Going into Friday's MAC championship game against Western Michigan, Pennington leads the league in passing efficiency (171.8), total offense (326.1 yards per game) and passing yards per game (319.5). He has completed 255-of-374 passes for 3,515 yards, 34 touchdowns and 10 interceptions. Pennington leads the nation in passing touchdowns with 34 and he holds the MAC career record for touchdown passes with 97.

    Pennington received 40 of the 55 votes with Western Michigan quarterback Tim Lester (8 votes) and Miami University tailback Travis Prentice (7 votes) also gaining notice.

    MAC Offensive Player of the Year Winners
    1999- Chad Pennington, Marshall
    1998- Travis Prentice, Miami
    1997-Randy Moss, Marshall
    1996-Kareem Wilson, Ohio
    1995-Wasean Tait, Toledo
    1994- Brian Pruitt, Central Michigan
    1993- Mike Neu, Ball State
    1992- Erik White, Bowling Green
    1991- Erik White, Bowling Green
    1990- Jeff Bender, Central Michigan
    1989- David Riley, Ball State
    1988- Tony Kimbrough, W. Michigan
    1987- Erik Wilkerson, Kent
    1986- Terry Morris, Miami
    1985- Brian McClure, Bowling Green
    1984- Brian McClure, Bowling Green
    1983- Brian McClure, Bowling Green
    1982- Curtis Adams, Central Michigan
    1981- Sam Shon, Ohio
    1980- Mark O'Connell, Ball State
    1979- Gary Hogenboom, C. Michigan
    1978- Jerome Persell, Western Michigan
    Dave Petzke, Northern Illinois
    1977- Jerome Persell, Western Michigan
    1976- Jerome Persell, Western Michigan
    1975- Gene Swick, Toledo
    1974- Gene Swick, Toledo
    1973- Paul Miles, Bowling Green
    1972- Bob Hitchens, Miami
    1971- Chuck Ealey, Toledo
    1970- Chuck Ealey, Toledo
    1969- Chuck Ealey, Toledo
    1968- Cleve Bryant, Ohio
    1967- John Schnieder, Toledo
    1966- Bruce Matte, Miami
    1965-Willie Asbury, Kent