Marshall and Toledo Tabbed In Preseason Poll

Updated 7/25/2000
Thundering Herd Predicted to Win Fourth Straight League Title

DETROIT, Mich. (July 25, 2000) -- Should the preseason poll as conducted among members of the MAC News Media Association hold, Marshall University would become the first school in league history to win four consecutive league championships. Five other teams, however, also received recognition that they could walk away with the MAC Championship trophy in the title game slated for Dec. 2 at 1 p.m., live on ABC, from Marshall Stadium in Huntington, W.Va. The results were compiled and released at today's Mid-American Conference Football Media Day held at Cobo Hall.

The Thundering Herd returns only 11 starters, but five of those were first team all-MAC performers in 1999. Marshall has a national best 18-game winning streak and is coming off a 13-0 record and a No. 10 national ranking. Toledo is the team most likely, according to the poll, to unseat the Herd. The Rockets have 18 returning starters, including 10 on offense. Both teams earned 45 first-place votes in their respective divisions, but Marshall was listed on 34 of the 61 ballots to return to the Motor City Bowl. Toledo received 15 votes, Western Michigan five, Ohio three and Miami and Akron two each to win the league's championship game.

After Marshall in the East, Akron, Miami and Ohio finished a very close second, third, and fourth, respectively. Bowling Green is slotted for the fifth position, Kent State sixth and Buffalo seventh. The Zips garnered six first-place votes, Ohio five and Miami four.

The Rockets were selected by a wide margin to dethrone defending champion Western Michigan and return the West title trophy to the Glass Bowl. The Broncos gained 13 first-place votes and Northern Illinois three while no other West team gained such lofty notice. Central Michigan, Eastern Michigan and Ball State were predicted to finish fourth, fifth and six, respectively.

East Division 
Team (first place votes) 	Points 
Marshall (45)   		403 
Akron 	(7)  			310 
Miami 	(4)  			305 
Ohio 	(5)  			281 
Bowling Green   		188 
Kent State  			126 
Buffalo  	 		66 

West Division 
Team (first place votes) 	Points 
Toledo (45) 			408 
Western Michigan (13) 		328 
Northern Illinois (3) 		293 
Central Michigan 		240 
Eastern Michigan 		214 
Ball State 			154 

MAC Championship Game Winner:
Marshall (34), Toledo (15), Western Michigan (5), Ohio (3), Akron (2), Miami (2).

Note: Points awarded on the basis of 7 for first place, 6 for second place, 5 for third, 4 for fourth, 3 for fifth, 2 for sixth and one for seventh.