Eastern Michigan defeats Miami in Fourth Overtime for Championship

Updated 11/7/1999
YPSILANTI, Mich. (November 7) -- Eastern Michigan defeated Miami 5-3 in penalty kicks to win the MAC Championship 0-0 in women's soccer. After three scoreless overtimes, the championship match went to penalty kicks. All five Eastern Michigan kickers were able to score, and the MAC Player of the Year, Sarah Willis was able to stop one Miami penalty shot. Miami did not get the chance to take its last shot because Eastern Michigan was already up 5-3, and the shot would have been irrelevant to the final outcome.

The 1999 MAC Women's Soccer All-Tournament Team was announced at the conclusion of the championship match. The All-Tournament Team includes: Kjersten Kuhlman and Anne Fedrigo of Central Michigan, Betsy Dopps and Nicki Pendleton of Ohio, Andrea Cunningham, Tonja Weimer, and Kate Cleverdon of Miami and Emilie Meier, Tracy Deeter, Sarah Willis and Katie Lewis of Eastern Michigan.

Eastern Michigan will find out Sunday at 6:30 p.m. who it will be playing in the NCAA tournament. The NCAA tournament will be made up of 48 teams.