Ball State's Ridley Highlights All-MAC Baseball Team

Updated 5/17/2000

Shayne Ridley
CLEVELAND (May 17) - Ball State University shortstop Shayne Ridley, the 2000 Mid-American Conference Player of the Year, highlights the 30-player all-conference squad that was announced by the league office. In addition, Ohio's Tony Schiml was tabbed as the conference's Pitcher of the Year, Ball State's Bryan Bullington was named the MAC's Freshman of the Year, while Kent State skipper Rick Rembielak was chosen as Coach of the Year. Voting for the 15-member first and 15-member second all-MAC teams was conducted by the league's 12 head coaches.

Kent State, the MAC overall regular season and the East Division champions with a 20-6 record and an overall mark of 39-16, had a league-high six players represented on the first- and second-teams (two first-team and four second-team selections). West Division co-champ Central Michigan (40-15, 18-8) had three players named to the first team and one to the second, while Ball State (32-21, 18-8), which was also the West co-champ, had two first-team recipients and one placed on the second team. Miami, which was the last team to qualify in the East Division tied with the Chippewas with three first-team choices.

Ridley, one of five players to be unanimously named to the first-team, led the MAC in hitting the entire regular season and currently ranks second in the nation with a .460 average. A first-team all-conference selection last season as a junior, the Milton, Ontario, native is first among all MAC shortstops in six offensive categories. Ridley is the fourth Cardinal to garner Player of the Year honors, and it also marks the third time in league history that players from the same school have been named the conference's MVP in back-to-back seasons. Last year, former Ball State standout Larry Bigbie, now a member of the Baltimore Orioles organization, was the MAC Player of the Year in 1999.

Tony Schiml
Schiml, a senior from Dayton, Ohio, completed the regular season with an 8-2 record and a 4.38 ERA for the Bobcats. In league play, the left-handed hurler was 7-0 with 2.47 ERA and fanned 61 batters in 76 innings of work. His seven victories in MAC play led all pitchers, while his eight wins overall was tied for second. Schiml, who like Ridley was a unanimous first-team choice, is the first Ohio hurler to be named the MAC Pitcher of the Year.

Bullington, who led the MAC in wins with nine during the regular season, is the third Ball State player to capture the rookie award in the last four years. The Madison, Ind., product was 9-3 with a 3.68 ERA, which ranked fifth in the MAC. In 78.1 innings, Bullington struck out 90, walked 24 and gave up only 48 hits. In conference action, Bullington was 5-2 with a 3.35 ERA that ranked fifth in the league and was second among freshman pitchers. Bullington was one of three freshman named to the first team.

For the second time in his career Rembielak was selected as the MAC Coach of the Year. Picked to finish third in their division back in February, Rembielak, who is in his seven year with the Golden Flashes, guided his team to the school's first title since 1996 and the sixth in the program's history.

Bryan Bullington
Joining Ridley, Schmil and Bullington on the first team were Eric Pinkerton (Marshall, Sr., 1B), Scott Pieratt (Central Michigan (Sr., 2B), Jason Stuecher (Toledo, Sr., 3B), Alex Marconi (Kent State, Sr., C), Mark Malaska (Akron, Jr., OF), Jake Sanborn (Central Michigan, Sr., OF), Clark Mace (Miami, Jr., OF), Mike Galloway (Central Michigan, Fr., DH), John Lackaff (Miami, Jr., UT), Tony Fontana (Bowling Green, Jr., P), Chris Leonard (Miami, Fr., P) and Dan Adams (Kent State, Sr., RP). Along with Ridley and Schiml as unanimous choices at their respective positions were Stuecher, Marconi and Adams, who was one of four players to repeat as first-team selections -- Ridley, Marconi and Sanborn.

On the all-MAC second team is Ohio's right side of the infield, Jeff Rook (Sr., 1B) and Ryan Kyes (Jr., 2B), Homer Renshaw (Marshall, So., 3B), Jeremy Ison (Miami, Jr., SS), Joe Seestadt (Western Michigan, Sr., C), Dave Mattle (Kent State, So., OF), Marty Rini (Marshall, So., OF), Cory Keylor (Ohio, So., OF), Alan Gilhousen (Bowling Green, Sr., DH), John VanBenschoten (Kent State, So., UT), John Wilkinson (Akron, Sr., P), Mike Steele (Central Michigan, Sr., P), Doug Straight (Kent State, Sr., P), Dirk Hayhurst (Kent State, Fr., P) and Chad Wells (Ball State, Sr., RP).

2000 All-Mid-American Conference Baseball Team

First Team

Name			School			Pos.	Yr.	Hometown (High School/Junior College)
Alex Marconi		Kent State		C	Sr.	Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio (St. Vincent-St. Mary)
Eric Pinkerton		Marshall		1B	Sr.	Charleston, W. Va. (Sissonville)
Scott Pieratt		Central Michigan	2B	Sr.	Mount Pleasant, Mich. (Sacred Heart)
Jason Stuecher		Toledo			3B	Sr.	Macomb, Mich. (Notre Dame)
Shayne Ridley		Ball State		SS	Sr.	Milton, Ontario (Milton District)
Mark Malaska		Akron			OF	Jr.	Youngstown, Ohio (Cardinal Mooney)
Jake Sanborn		Central Michigan	OF	Sr.	Grand Ledge, Mich. (Grand Ledge)
Clark Mace		Miami			OF	Jr.	London, Ohio (Madison Plains)
Mike Galloway		Central Michigan	DH	Fr.	St. Thomas, Ontario (Central)
John Lackaff		Miami			UT	Jr.	Downers Grove, Ill. (North)
Bryan Bullington 	Ball State		P	Fr.	Madison, Ind. (Madison)
Tony Fontana		Bowling Green		P	Jr.	Parma, Ohio (Valley Forge)
Chris Leonard		Miami			P	Fr.	Columbus, Ohio (St. Francis De Sales)
Tony Schiml		Ohio			P	Sr.	Dayton, Ohio (Sinclair CC)
Dan Adams		Kent State		RP	Sr.	Burlington, Wash. (Walla Walla CC)

Second Team

Name			School			Pos.	Yr.	Hometown (High School/Junior College)
Joe Seestadt		Western Michigan	C	Sr.	West Bloomfield, Mich. (West Bloomfield)
Jeff Rook		Ohio			1B	Sr.	Fairfield, Ohio (Fairfield)
Ryan Kyes		Ohio			2B	Jr.	White Lake, Mich. (Detroit Country Day)
Homer Renshaw		Marshall		3B	So.	Omaha, Neb. (Coffeyville CC)
Jeremy Ison		Miami			SS	Jr.	Hudson, Ohio (Hudson)
Dave Mattle		Kent State		OF	So.	Barberton, Ohio (Barberton)
Marty Rini		Marshall		OF	So.	Bethel Park, Pa. (Bethel Park)
Cory Keylor		Ohio			OF	So.	Westerville, Ohio (Westerville North)
Alan Gilhousen		Bowling Green		DH	Sr.	Canton, Ohio (Glen Oak)
John VanBenschoten	Kent State		UT	So.	Milford, Ohio (Milford)
John Wilkinson		Akron			P	Sr.	Brunswick, Ohio (Padua Franciscan)
Mike Steele		Central Michigan	P	Sr.	Midland, Mich. (Grand Rapids CC)
Doug Straight		Kent State		P	Sr.	Buckhannon, W.Va. (Upshur)
Dirk Hayhurst		Kent State		P	Fr.	Canton, Ohio (South)
Chad Wells		Ball State		RP	Sr.	Fort Wayne, Ind. (Carroll)

MAC Player of the Year: 		Shayne Ridley, Ball State
MAC Pitcher of the Year:		Tony Schiml, Ohio
MAC Freshman of the Year:		Bryan Bullington, Ball State
MAC Coach of the Year:			Rick Rembielak, Kent State