Ohio Chosen As Wrestling Favorite

Updated 10/8/1999

CLEVELAND, Ohio (Oct. 8) -- In a close vote, Mid-American Conference wrestling coaches chose the Ohio University Bobcats to win the league title. Ohio's 20 points edged Kent by one. Northern Illinois and Central Michigan tied for third, Buffalo was picked fifth and Eastern Michigan sixth. Ohio finished second to Central at last year's championship.

Four individual champions return from last year and all are ranked #1 in their respective weight classes going into the 1999-2000 season. Kent's Brent Thompson at 125 pounds, and three Central Michigan wrestlers - Chris Marshall at 141, Ryan Cunningham at 174 and Chris Vike at 197 - all are ranked at the top of their class.

Also receiving top rankings are Northern Illinois' Ryan Egan at 133 and David Potter at 184, Ohio's Aaron Cooper at 149 and Tim Courtland at heavyweight, Eastern Michigan's Matt Morrow at 157 and Buffalo's Gary Cooper at 165.

The Mid-American Conference wrestling championship will be held March 3-4, 2000 at Buffalo.

The individual rankings from the coaches are as follows:
125: 1. Brent Thompson (Kent); 2. Ahmad Sanders (CMU); 
     3. Claudell Ruffin (EMU); 4. Twan Pham (NIU).

133: 1. Ryan Eagan (NIU); 2. Brian Baughman (Kent); 
     3. Brad Wright (Ohio); t-4. Shawn Keggels (UB); t-4. Zac Pyles (EMU).

141: 1. Chris Marshall (CMU); 2. Shane Hartzler (Ohio); 
     3. Tom LeCuyer (NIU); 4. Mark Wentz (Kent).

149: 1. Aaron Cooper (Ohio); 2. Scott Owen (NIU); 
     3. Sam Murdock (Kent); 4. Ryan Bentley (UB).

157: 1. Matt Morrow (EMU); 2. Jacob Partlow (UB); 
     3. Anthony Ralph (Kent); 4. Shawn Brightman (Ohio).

165: 1. Gary Cooper (UB); 2. John Wervey (Ohio); 
     3. John Moore (Kent); 4. Lue Dyer (NIU).

174: 1. Ryan Cunningham (CMU); 2. Mike Feeny (EMU); 
     3. Jack Hangeman (Kent); 4. Bill Lowney (NIU).

184: 1. David Potter (NIU); 2. Travis Kraft (EMU); 
     3. Nick Magistrelli (Kent); 4. Joe Downey (UB).

197: 1. Chris Vike (CMU); 2. Dan Bednar (Ohio); 
     3. Josh States (UB); 4. Jason Nape (NIU).

HWT: 1. Tim Courtland (Ohio); 2. Mike Garofolo (UB); 
     3. Jack Leffler (CMU); 4. Jason Pence (Kent).

The season opening competition for each of the MAC's six teams is as follows: Buffalo, Nov. 20 at Bloomsburg Invitational; Central Michigan, Nov. 13-14 at Michigan State Open; Eastern Michigan, Nov. 6, Eastern Michigan Open; Kent, Nov. 14 at Brockport/Oklahoma Gold Classic; Northern Illinois, Nov. 13 at Stevens Point Open; Ohio, Nov. 13 at West Virginia Open.